Here are the Senate Republicans who voted for the Ukraine package

Share this post

The Senate passed a $95 billion emergency defense spending bill in an early morning vote Tuesday after 22 Republicans joined the majority of Senate Democrats to pass the package.

The 70-29 vote took place shortly after 5 a.m., following an all-night filibuster by conservatives who objected to the bill.

It comes nearly four months after President Biden sent his request to Congress to fund Ukraine in its war against Russia and nearly a week after the dramatic collapse of a bipartisan border security package that would’ve unlocked aid for Kyiv.

The legislation faces an uncertain future in the House, after Speaker Mike Johnson (R-La.) on Monday night indicated he would not put it up for a vote. Former President Trump and his allies in the House and Senate have opposed giving more money for Ukraine, demanding action at the border first and arguing for loans to Ukraine.

READ ALSO  NASA reveals its total asteroid haul from ambitious mission

Republicans backed by Trump torpedoed a larger package that included significant concessions from Democrats on border security.

The $95.3 billion package passed by the Senate also includes $14 billion in funding for Israel for its fight against Palestinian militant group Hamas, as well as humanitarian assistance for Palestinians in Gaza, the West Bank and funds for U.S. allies in the Indo-Pacific.

Two Democrats voted no, Sens. Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.) and Peter Welch (D-Vt.), pointing to concerns over Israel Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s military campaign in Gaza. Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) also voted against the bill due to the same concerns.

READ ALSO  Biden super PAC launches historic $250M ad blitz

Two members of GOP leadership, McConnell and Senate Majority Whip John Thune (R-S.D.), the second-ranking Senate Republican, backed the measure. McConnell has been one of the foremost supporters of U.S. support for Ukraine. Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wy.) and Steve Daines (R-Mont.), also part of the GOP leadership team, voted “no.”

Here are all 22 Senate Republicans who voted in support of the spending bill:

  • Sen. John Boozman (Ark.)
  • Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.)
  • Sen. Bill Cassidy (La.)
  • Sen. Susan Collins (Me.)
  • Sen. John Cornyn (Texas)
  • Sen. Kevin Cramer (N.D.)
  • Sen. Mike Crapo (Idaho)
  • Sen. Joni Ernst (Iowa)
  • Sen. Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
  • Sen. John Hoeven (N.D.)
  • Sen. John Kennedy (La.)
  • Sen. Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
  • Sen. Jerry Moran (Kan.)
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
  • Sen. James Risch (Idaho)
  • Sen. Mitt Romney (Utah)
  • Sen. Mike Rounds (S.D.)
  • Sen. Dan Sullivan (Alaska)
  • Sen. John Thune (S.D.)
  • Sen. Thom Tillis (N.C.)
  • Sen. Roger Wicker (Miss.)
  • Sen. Todd Young (Ind.)
READ ALSO  Putin loses ANOTHER commander as General Alexander Tatarenko among 10 dead in Storm Shadow missile strike

Go to Source

Leave Your Comment